The history of Dundas Fire Department
Rotarian Keith Green presented some fascinating pictures and stories of the history of the Dundas Volunteer Fire Department going back to its formation in 1833.Hand pumps and horse drawn fire carts were the start, with volunteers assembled by the ringing of a bell, which can still be seen hanging in Dundas. By 1898 the Fire Station was at its current location and in 1913, with the advent of electricity, fire alarm pulls were located in different parts of the town. Keith told us of some of the major fires that have occurred in Dundas - the 1881 fire in which a complete block was lost at Cross and King and others at Central School, the Golf Club, Valley City and St James Church.
Keith is shown here in front of one of his pictures of the people really attracted to fire trucks, the young people of Dundas.
Most interesting was Keith's work to restore old fire trucks and present them to the public. Through diligent work, many hours and dollars, he has assembled a collection of five former Dundas fire trucks models from 1929, 1937, 1947, 1956 and 1961, with the ultimate goal of creating a Dundas firefighters' museum. Keith can arrange to have fire trucks attend Rotary events.
You can see photos of the fire trucks at http://www.thespec.com/news-story/4037913-vintage-fire-trucks-back-home-in-dundas/